To Sew it is!

Learn how to do something new.  And we can choose from ANYTHING!? The hardest part of this project may be the choosing part in general.  In order to help me decide what I want to learn, I dove into my favorite “how to” search engine, Pinterest.  There are so many interesting things out there!  Here are a few I found especially interesting: how to make fondant, how to edit pictures in Photoshop, how to sew, how to plan a good party, just to name a few.  I thought that if I am going to do this project I wanted to choose something that would be helpful later in life. I have seen so many projects on Pinterest that require sewing and I find myself saying “That looks easy!” and “I could do that…IF I only knew how to sew”.

sewingSo, sewing it is!  In the end, I would like to sew Christmas stockings for my family.  That can’t be too hard, right?  I just get fabric, cut it in the shape of a giant sock and sew away.  My first step is to learn the sewing basics. When it comes to hands-on type of tasks, I am a visual learner.  For that reason, I will start my search on YouTube.  To begin, I searched YouTube for “the basics of sewing” and hundreds of videos popped up.  I don’t think I will have many problems finding a good source here.  I also Googled “the basics of sewing” and a lot of good information came up.  I found a website that had a glossary of sorts that explained sewing terms.  I also discovered a couple of blogs that had good pictures and descriptions for beginner sewers.  My first learning goal is to thread a sewing machine and learn how to make a few basic stitches.  From there I want to try a basic straight line project, such as making a pillow cover.  Lastly, I will need to find patterns and ideas as to how to make a Christmas stocking.

I hope my final project looks something like this:

stockings

Wish me luck!

Pictures courtesy of:

Kielers, C. (2011, September 2).  How to: Sew Simple Curtains. [Web blog post]. ]. Retrieved September 21, 2013, from http://thekeilers.blogspot.gr/2011/09/how-to-sew-simple-curtains.html.

Roskelley, C. (2010, November 26). It’s that time of Year. [Web blog post]. Retrieved September 21, 2013, from http://camilleroskelley.typepad.com/simplify/2010/11/thattimeofyear.html.

Leave a comment